"You Are Innocent Until Proven Guilty"
Multiple DUI Attorney in Gainesville
Legal Help for Those Facing Multiple DUI Charges
A single DUI can bring serious penalties against an individual that he or she may have to deal with for years to come. A second, third, or fourth DUI carries a punishment that may be extremely harsh to say the least. It is extremely important to seek the assistance of a highly skilled attorney in the case of a multiple DUI charge.
Multiple DUI charges can cause great hardship for those who are not legally assisted by a skilled attorney. Every time you are charged with a subsequent DUI, the penalties become more uncompromising. The best way to avoid the maximum penalties of a multiple DUI conviction is to have an experienced lawyer that can prove you were not guilty in this or a prior conviction.
Penalties for Multiple DUI Offenses in Florida
The state of Florida has harsh penalties for any type of DUI offense. The consequences for a first drunk driving conviction are serious, but they increase in severity for second and subsequent offenses. The exact penalties for subsequent offenses depend on the amount of time that has passed between offenses and the Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) of the defendant. If you have received a second, third or fourth DUI charge, team up with a Gainesville criminal defense lawyer from Kinsell Law Firm right away.
The penalties that you may be facing include what is shown below.
Second DUI Offense
- Up to nine months if the BAL was between .08 and .15
- Up to 12 months if the BAL was above .15 or if a minor was in the vehicle
- At least 10 days if the offense is within five years of a previous DUI offense
- Between $1,000-$2,000 if the BAL was between .08 and .15
- Between $2,000-$4,000 if BAL was above .15 or if a minor was in the vehicle
- License suspension for five years if the offense was within five years of the previous DUI
- Suspension is eligible for Hardship Reinstatement after one year
- Ignition Interlock Device for at least one year
- 30 day vehicle impound
Third DUI Offense
A third DUI offense will be charged as a third degree felony if it's within 10 years of your previous DUI.
- Minimum of 30 days and up to 12 months
- Between $2,000-$5,000 if BAL was between .08 and .15
- $4,000 minimum if BAL was above .15 or if a minor was in the vehicle
- License suspension for 10 years if the offense was within 10 years of the previous DUI
- Suspension is eligible for hardship after two years
- Ignition Interlock Device for at least two years
- 90 day vehicle impound
Fourth DUI Offense
- Minimum $2,000 fine
- Up to five years in jail
- Licenses suspension for life without Hardship Reinstatement
Choosing an Experienced & Professional Attorney
If you have been charged with a multiple DUI offense, it is likely you will be penalized with jail time, hefty fines, and loss of driving privileges. Multiple DUI penalties become increasingly severe with the second DUI carrying a mandatory minimum jail sentence and loss of one's driver's license for five years. The third and fourth DUI carry even more severe punishment.
Penalties will also include community service, probation and DUI School. Because Florida has the "Implied Consent Law," refusal to take any tests that disclose your BAC level will result in an immediate license suspension of one year. It has been found in many cases that BAC testing devices were unreliable. In addition, many blood tests were not done promptly resulting in fermentation of the sample, which caused increased alcohol content.
At Kinsell Law Firm, we are dedicated to preserving the rights of our clients and providing them with the legal representation they deserve. With so much at stake with a multiple DUI charge, you need to speak with an attorney immediately so that you can be sure you are doing everything you can to secure your future.
Contact a Gainesville multiple DUI lawyer immediately if you or a loved one has been charged with a multiple DUI and you need assistance now.