"You Are Innocent Until Proven Guilty"
Gainesville DUI Attorney
Driving Under the Influence Charges in Gainesville, Florida
You may have always been a responsible driver and maintained control while drinking, but one small misstep has resulted in serious DUI charges. The laws that govern drinking and driving can be extremely strict and the penalties can greatly affect any person convicted for years to come.
A knowledgeable Gainesville DUI lawyer with our firm may be able to help you secure a temporary driving permit while we aggressively pursue protection of your license. The temporary permit would allow you to drive to and from work, school, your religious affiliation, or the supermarket with no restriction as to time of day, but to no other locations that those specified.
If you speak with a skilled DUI attorney from our law firm in Gainesville, you will be greatly improving your chances of getting your penalties lessened or dismissed altogether.
Why Choose Our Gainesville Criminal Defense Lawyers?
- 20+ years' criminal law experience on your side
- A successful record of not-guilty verdicts
- Our defense practice is based on referrals from past clients
- Tireless defense of your innocence
Being charged with a crime – even a first DUI – is dangerous. Often, people do not know what to expect and can make faulty decisions regarding their case due to a lack of understanding of the legal process. You are innocent until proven guilty, and that is how we approach each case.
Arrested for driving under the influence? Fight your charges with the help of our DUI attorneys. Contact our firm today.
Understanding a First Time DUI in Florida
In 2013, there were more than 61,000 DUI arrests in this state. Even if this is your first offense, with blood alcohol content (BAC) less than 0.20%, if convicted, you could face penalties of up to 6 months in jail, $500 to $1,000 in fines, and driver's license suspension. If your BAC was 0.20% or higher, or if you were accompanied by a person 18 years of age or younger, you could be facing jail time of up to 9 months and $1,000 to $2,000 in fines.
We have implied consent laws in this state that require drivers to submit to a breath or blood test if pulled over by a police officer. If you refuse to take the test, your driver's license will be automatically suspended for 1 year. If you take the test and your BAC is 0.08% or higher, your driver's license will be suspended.
Within 10 days of your arrest, an administrative DMV hearing must be requested to defend your right to drive. Many people who attended these hearings unrepresented are disappointed in the results. You will improve your chances of retaining your driver license with an experienced DUI attorney in Gainesville, Florida, by your side.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the consequences for refusing to take a chemical test?
If you refuse to take a requested blood or breath test, your license will automatically be suspended for 1 year for a first offense, and 18 months for both a second and third offense.
How long do previous DUI convictions stay in effect on my record?
Any previous DUI conviction can be used to incur more serious charges against you for five years after a second offense and 10 years for a third offense.
If the officer didn't read me my Miranda rights, will this work in my favor?
While your case will not be dismissed if your rights weren't read to you, this can affect any statements that you make.
Will my insurance rates go up for a DUI conviction?
Most insurance providers will raise your rates if convicted for a DUI. However, if you maintain a clean driving record in the future, there is a possibility that you can receive lower rates after a certain length of time as determined by your insurance company.
Do I really need an attorney for a DUI?
Yes. The common assumption is that if you know you are guilty of driving while intoxicated, why try to plead otherwise? However, when you work with a criminal attorney skilled in handling DUI cases in Gainesville, they can fight to have any DUI charge reduced or possibly even dismissed altogether.
What penalties could I be facing for a DUI?
In Florida, your penalties will depend on whether or not this was a first offense and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). However, penalties can include up to one year in jail, between $500 and $5,000 in fines, license suspension, and a mandatory interlock ignition device.
Can Kinsell Law Firm help me?
At Kinsell Law Firm, our criminal defense attorneys have the experience and background in DUI law to help clients through the DUI process while minimizing or eradicating the damage done to their life. Gainesville DUI lawyers can help you get the answers to any questions you might have.
If you put your case into the hands of a qualified DUI attorney you will greatly reduce the chances of receiving those penalties. It is not worth taking chances with your future. If you have been charged with a DUI in Gainesville, Florida, call our law firm today.
Contact us today at (352) 375-6229 to speak with a Gainesville DUI lawyer if you have recently been charged with drunk driving.