What Is the Difference Between a Misdemeanor and a Felony?
Florida Sentencing Laws
In the state of Florida, crimes are generally categorized as misdemeanors or felonies. Do you know the difference and what each would mean upon conviction? Kinsell & Whitaker can provide the answers that you need when you are facing charges of a crime, no matter how large or small.
Florida Misdemeanor Penalties
Less-serious crimes are generally categorized as misdemeanors. These offenses can include the following crimes:
Misdemeanors can be charged in the first or second degree, with first-degree misdemeanors being the worst and. Misdemeanors in the second degree will incur a
fine of $500,
up to 60 days in jail, or both.
First-degree misdemeanors will result in a
fine of $1,000,
up to 1 year in jail, or both.
Penalties for Felonies in Florida
More serious crimes are charged as felonies. Examples of felony offenses include:
Felonies can be charged in the first, second, or third degree, with first-degree felonies being the worst. There are also life felonies (incurring life in prison) and capital felonies (incurring the death sentence or life in prison).
Conviction of a first-degree felony will result in a fine of $15,000, up to 30 years in prison, or both.
Second-degree felonies will involve a fine of $10,000, up to 15 years in prison, or both. If convicted of a
third-degree felony, a person will face a fine of $5,000, up to 5 years in prison, or both.
Contact a Gainesville Criminal Defense Lawyer
Call Kinsell & Whitaker today at (352) 260-0696 to request a complimentary consultation if you have been arrested. We can answer any criminal defense questions that you have and can provide the relentless defense that you need.
Contact us today!